Util Rank
System Optimization •
macOS

CleanMyMac Review (2026): What the Vendor Says About Cleaning, Malware Checks and Limits

A research-based review of CleanMyMac built from the vendor's own product page: cleaning, malware, uninstaller and clutter modules, macOS requirements and the free trial. Not lab-tested.

By UtilRank Editorial • Updated: 2026-10-26

CleanMyMac

Pricing: see the vendor's pricing page

CleanMyMac is a Mac maintenance app from MacPaw with modules for junk cleaning, malware scanning, performance, uninstalling apps, and finding duplicates and large files. The vendor offers a trial but does not state its limits, and it does not describe a permanent free version. The product page we read showed an error banner, so some details may have loaded incompletely.

Pros

  • Covers cleaning, malware, performance, uninstalling, duplicate files and cloud-storage checks in one app (vendor)
  • A trial is offered through the product page (vendor)
  • macOS 11 or later and 320 MB of storage are listed as requirements (vendor)
  • The uninstaller is described as removing apps along with their leftover data (vendor)

Cons

  • The trial length and any cleaning or scanning limits are not stated
  • No refund or money-back terms are stated on the product page
  • The pricing model is not stated on the product page; the page shows a monthly rate without explaining the plan type
  • The product page we read showed an error message, so some content may be missing
Official developer link
Visit Official Website
How this review was made. This is a research-based review, not a lab test. Every claim comes from the vendor's product page, read on 26 October 2026 and listed at the bottom. Where the vendor does not say something, we write "not stated". We do not publish prices: see the vendor's store page for your region. Awards, user counts and the cleaning figures on the page are the vendor's own claims.

Look at CleanMyMac if

  • You want one app for junk cleaning, malware checks and uninstalling on a Mac.
  • You want to find duplicate photos and large or forgotten files.
  • You want to try the app with a trial before you pay.

Look elsewhere if

  • You need the trial's limits or length confirmed first; the product page does not state them.
  • You need a refund policy confirmed; the product page does not state one.
  • You want a privacy-focused feature set; the product page does not describe privacy features.

What the vendor says about the modules

The page describes Smart Care as a routine that combines deep cleaning, threat scanning, performance boosting, software updates and storage decluttering. Other modules are storage cleanup of system junk and outdated files, malware scanning, performance control of memory and CPU load, and an uninstaller that removes apps along with their leftover data.

Clutter tools find duplicate and similar photos, plus large or forgotten files. A cloud-storage view shows large cloud files and redundant local copies.

Platforms and requirements

The page lists macOS 11 or later, 320 MB of storage and a minimum display size of 1200 × 800 pixels. No separate system requirements page is linked.

Trial and free use

The page offers a trial through “Get Trial” and “Start Free Trial” links. It does not state the trial length or any limits on scanning or cleaning. No permanently free version is mentioned.

Pricing

The page shows a starting monthly rate and a “Buy Now” link to the store. It does not state the pricing model explicitly. We do not publish the amount; see the store page for your region.

Refunds

The product page states no money-back or refund terms.

Vendor claims

The page includes figures and awards, such as “29 million downloads”, “notarized by Apple”, a 2020 design award, a 2021 Red Dot winner, and a TrustScore of 4.7 from 3,375 reviews. The cleaning figures on the page, for example “5.5 GB of junk cleaned on the first scan”, are also vendor claims. We have not verified any of them.

What is not stated

  • Trial length and the limits of the trial.
  • Pricing model, refund terms and privacy features.
  • Mac hardware requirements beyond the macOS version and storage listed above.

Disclosure

Some outbound links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through them, UtilRank may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Commissions do not influence what we write. Read our affiliate disclosure and editorial policy.

Sources and verification

Read on 26 October 2026. The source is the vendor’s own product page, which showed an error banner when read.

The store page linked from the product page was not read for this review. Anything it would contain is listed above as “not stated”.

Visit CleanMyMac

Explore feature details, downloads, and pricing on the official site.

Go to Official Site
ESC to close Instant Search