Movavi Photo Editor Review (2026): What the Vendor Says About Retouching, AI Tools and Trial Limits
A research-based review of Movavi Photo Editor built from the vendor's own page: retouching, presets and effects, AI tools such as background removal and colourisation, Windows requirements, the trial's 10-image and watermark limits, and what the page does not state about the licence type or refunds. Not lab-tested.
Movavi Photo Editor
Movavi Photo Editor is a desktop photo editor for Windows and Mac with presets, effects and AI tools for retouching, background removal, colourisation and restoring old photos. The trial lets you save up to 10 images, with a watermark and no screenshots. The page does not state the Mac version requirements, whether the licence is lifetime or a subscription, or the refund terms.
Pros
- Photo editing, colour correction and 34 new presets are listed (vendor)
- AI tools include retouching, background removal and swap, object removal, colourisation and old photo restoration (vendor)
- Windows 10 and 11 (64-bit) requirements are stated (vendor)
- A free trial is offered (vendor)
Cons
- The trial saves up to 10 images, with a watermark, and screenshots are disabled (vendor)
- Mac version requirements are not stated beyond 'Mac OS'
- The page does not say whether the licence is lifetime, subscription or per licence
- Refund terms are not stated
- Correct processing of images above 6000 × 8000 pixels 'cannot be guaranteed' (vendor)
Look at Movavi Photo Editor if
- You want to remove an object or change a background in a photo on Windows.
- You want to restore an old photo or add colour to a black-and-white one.
- You want to test a few images before you buy.
Look elsewhere if
- You need to process very large images; the page says correct processing above 6000 × 8000 pixels cannot be guaranteed.
- You need the Mac requirements or the licence type confirmed; the page does not state them.
- You want a video editor rather than a photo editor; see our Movavi Video Editor review.
What the vendor says the editor does
The page lists photo editing, colour correction and presets, with 34 new presets. It lists captions, atmospheric effects and more than 100 effects and filters, and a custom sharpness adjustment.
The AI tools named are retouching, background removal and swap, object removal, colourisation, old photo restoration, and automatic light and colour enhancement.
The page also links to a separate Movavi mobile app for iOS.
Platforms and requirements
For Windows, the page lists Windows 10 and 11 (64-bit) with up-to-date patches, an Intel Core i5 or higher, 6 GB of RAM, a 1280 × 768 display, 500 MB for installation and 5 GB for ongoing use. The Mac version is listed as “Mac OS” without a version number.
Trial
The trial lets you save up to 10 images, and those images carry a watermark. Screenshots are disabled in the trial. The trial limitations are described on a linked support page.
Pricing and refunds
The page shows a one-time price, but does not say whether the licence is lifetime, a subscription or per licence. A buy link includes the word “picverseyear”, which the page does not explain. The page does not state refund terms. We do not publish prices.
Vendor claims
The page says “70M+ users”, “190+ countries”, “15+ updates per year” and “10,000+ effects”. It shows ratings from G2, TechJockey, Crozdesk and the App Store, and award quotes from PhotoWorks, Top10PCSoftware and FixThePhoto. These are the vendor’s own selections; we have not verified them.
What is not stated
- Mac version requirements.
- Licence type.
- Refund terms.
Disclosure
The link on this page is not yet an affiliate link. Commissions do not influence what we write. Read our affiliate disclosure and editorial policy.
Sources and verification
Read on 26 October 2026. The source is the vendor’s own product page, which is titled “Movavi Photo Editor 2026”.
- Movavi Photo Editor: Product page
The buy, formats and trial-limitations pages linked from the product page were not read for this review.
Visit Movavi Photo Editor
Explore feature details, downloads, and pricing on the official site.