Parallels Desktop Review (2026): What the Vendor Says About Windows on Mac, Editions and Licensing
A research-based review of Parallels Desktop for Mac built from the vendor's own pages: Apple silicon and Windows 11 on Arm, editions, subscription and one-time licensing, system requirements. Not lab-tested.
Parallels Desktop
Parallels Desktop is a paid virtualization app for running Windows, Linux and macOS guests on a Mac. The vendor says it is authorized by Microsoft for Windows 11 on Apple silicon. Standard is offered as a subscription or a one-time purchase for the current version; Pro is primarily a subscription. This review is based on vendor pages only.
Pros
- The vendor states it is authorized by Microsoft to run the Arm version of Windows 11 Pro and Enterprise on Apple silicon
- Four editions listed (Standard, Pro, Business, Enterprise), so home, developer and managed-IT needs are separated
- Standard is offered as a subscription or a one-time purchase (current version only)
- A free trial is offered, and a 30-day money-back guarantee applies to purchases made on parallels.com
- System requirements page lists Windows 11 Pro and Enterprise, several Linux distributions and macOS as guests (Arm versions)
Cons
- Paid product: the free trial length is not stated on the pages we read
- Pro is primarily a subscription; the vendor says a one-time licence is generally not available for Pro
- Standard is limited to 8 GB of virtual memory and 4 virtual CPUs per VM, according to the vendor
- Intel Mac support ends with Parallels Desktop 26; version 27 requires Apple silicon
- Known limitations of Windows on Arm are documented in a separate knowledge base article that we did not read
Parallels Desktop is a virtualization app for Mac. The vendor says it lets you run thousands of Windows apps on a Mac without restarting, and it also lists Linux and macOS guests. This review looks at what Parallels states about Apple silicon support, editions, licensing, the trial and system requirements.
Look at Parallels Desktop if
- You have an Apple silicon Mac and want a Windows 11 route the vendor says Microsoft has authorized.
- You want the option of a one-time purchase for light home use (Standard, current version only).
- You want a trial before you pay, and you accept that the trial length is not stated on the pages we read.
- You need developer features (command line, nested virtualization) or team licensing, which the vendor lists under Pro and Business.
Look elsewhere if
- You want a free tool: Parallels Desktop is paid after the trial. Our guide to running Windows on a Mac covers options the vendors describe as free.
- You have an Intel Mac and want the newest version: the vendor says Intel support ends with version 26.
- You need a one-time licence for the Pro edition: the vendor says it is generally not available.
What the vendor says about Windows on Apple silicon
The product page says Parallels Desktop is authorized by Microsoft to run the Arm version of Windows 11 Pro and Enterprise, and that Microsoft has confirmed it as an officially compatible solution for customers on Apple silicon Macs. You can bring your own Windows 11 licence key if it can be used to activate Windows. The page points to a separate knowledge base article for known limitations, which we did not read.
The system requirements page for Parallels Desktop 27 lists any Apple silicon chip as the minimum, with M-series recommended. It says full hardware graphics acceleration requires an M3 or newer chip. Guest systems listed (Arm versions only) are Windows 11 Pro and Enterprise, Windows Server 2025, several Linux distributions and macOS. It also says Parallels Desktop 26 includes a preview of x86 emulation for some x86 operating systems.
Editions and licensing
The vendor lists four editions:
- Standard: described as a limited version for running Windows applications on base-model Macs and for light home use, with up to 8 GB of virtual memory and 4 virtual CPUs per VM.
- Pro: for developers, power users and gamers, with up to 128 GB of virtual memory and 32 virtual CPUs per VM on supported hardware, plus command-line tools, developer tools and nested virtualization.
- Business: for teams and small businesses, with centralized administration, licence management, volume licensing and Jamf and Intune integration.
- Enterprise: for IT-managed deployments, with a management portal, golden image deployment, encrypted VMs and SSO/SAML with SCIM provisioning.
On licensing, Standard is offered either as a subscription or as a one-time purchase labelled “Current version only”; the page notes that full compatibility with future versions is not guaranteed. Pro is primarily a subscription, and the FAQ says a one-time licence is generally not available for Pro. Subscriptions include Parallels Toolbox and 24x7 support, according to the vendor. For current prices see the pricing information on Parallels’ site, linked below.
Trial and refunds
The product page offers “Try free” and “Try now” buttons but does not state the trial length. Separately, it states a 30-day money-back guarantee for purchases made directly on parallels.com. The vendor does not describe this as a trial.
System requirements
The version 27 requirements page lists Apple silicon, 8 GB of memory as the minimum (16 GB or more recommended), about 600 MB for the app plus at least 16 GB for each Windows guest, and macOS Sonoma 14.7 or newer as the minimum. Intel Mac support ends with Parallels Desktop 26, which the page says requires a Core i5, i7, i9, Core M or Xeon processor.
What is not stated
- The length and terms of the free trial.
- The known limitations of Windows 11 on Arm: the product page refers to a separate knowledge base article.
- Performance figures: we did not find benchmark numbers on the pages we read, and we ran none.
- A Windows licence is not included; the page says you bring your own key if you have one. Whether Parallels sells a Windows licence is not stated on the pages we read.
Compare Parallels with other ways to run Windows on a Mac
Our guide to running Windows on a Mac puts Parallels next to VMware Fusion, UTM and VirtualBox, using the same vendor-page method.
Disclosure
Some outbound links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through them, UtilRank may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Commissions do not influence what we write. Read our affiliate disclosure and editorial policy.
Sources and verification
Read on 19 October 2026. All sources are the vendor’s own pages.
- Parallels Desktop: Product page, Editions, System requirements
Visit Parallels Desktop
Explore feature details, downloads, and pricing on the official site.