Diagram and Mind-Map Tools 2026: EdrawMax, EdrawMind, Lucidchart, draw.io and Miro
A research-based comparison of five diagram and mind-map tools in 2026 built from each vendor's own pages: free plans and their limits, pricing model, AI features and what the vendors do and do not state. Not lab-tested.
Diagram tools look alike in screenshots, so the useful questions are practical ones: can you make something real on the free plan, do you rent the tool or buy it, and does it do mind maps at all. The five tools below approach this differently: two desktop-and-web tools from the same vendor, a browser-based diagram product, a free open-source editor and a whiteboard platform.
This page compares them using what each vendor states on its own pages. We did not build or export diagrams ourselves.
How this comparison was made
- This is a research-based comparison, not a lab test. We did not run speed, export or file-compatibility tests, so there are no benchmark numbers here.
- Every claim comes from the vendor's own pages, listed at the bottom, as read on 19 October 2026. Where a vendor does not state something, we say so instead of filling the gap.
- Two source gaps: Edrawsoft's product pages on edrawsoft.com refused our request, so for EdrawMax we used its own edrawmax.com site and the pricing pages of both Edraw products. Lucidchart's pricing page loads its content with scripts and returned no plan details, so its free-plan limits are listed as not stated.
- We do not publish prices. They change and differ by country. Each section links to the vendor's page so you can see the current price for your region.
Quick answers
Which one fits which need
- Free with no stated cap and no sign-up: draw.io says it is free and needs no account.
- Buy once instead of subscribing: EdrawMax and EdrawMind both list a perpetual plan, sold as a one-time payment for one major version.
- Dedicated mind-map software: EdrawMind. The other four pages we read either do not mention mind maps or only list them as a use case.
- Team whiteboard with AI: Miro and Lucidchart both describe AI features and collaboration.
Things to check before paying
- EdrawMax's free plan caps shapes and pages; EdrawMind's caps topics and sheets (details below).
- Edraw's perpetual plan covers one major version of the software, not every future version.
- Miro's free plan keeps only the three most recent boards editable.
- EdrawMax and EdrawMind are separate products from the same vendor; check which one a plan covers.
Side-by-side overview
| EdrawMax | EdrawMind | Lucidchart | draw.io | Miro | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Main focus (vendor pages) | General diagrams: 210+ diagram types online, 20,000+ templates | Mind maps and brainstorming | Diagrams, flowcharts, process and system maps | Diagram editor | Online whiteboard with diagramming |
| Free option | Free plan with limits | Free plan with limits | Sign-up is free; limits not stated | Free, open source | Free plan with limits |
| Pricing model | Subscription or perpetual plan | Subscription or perpetual plan | Not stated on the pages we could read | Free; no paid tier stated | Per member, billed monthly or yearly |
| One-time payment? | Yes (perpetual, per major version) | Yes (perpetual, per major version) | Not stated | No payment needed | No |
| Mind maps? | Mind-map maker listed | Yes, core product | Not mentioned on the product page | Not mentioned | Not described on the pricing page |
| AI features | Yes: 40+ AI generators and tools | Yes: AI mind-map and outline tools | Yes: Lucid AI, prompt-based diagrams | Not stated | Yes, with a monthly credit allowance |
| Where it runs | Desktop, online and mobile products | Windows, Mac, Linux, web and mobile | Browser-based | Online, plus a desktop app | Online |
“Not stated” means the vendor pages we read do not say it. It does not mean the feature is absent.
What each vendor says
EdrawMax
The vendor describes a diagram tool covering flowcharts, floor plans, UML and network diagrams and says its online edition offers more than 210 diagram types. Its home page cites 20,000+ free templates, 26,000+ symbols and 40+ AI diagram generators and tools. Its pricing page lists subscription plans (semi-annual and annual, renewing automatically) and a perpetual plan sold as a one-time payment for a major version, with a 30-day money-back guarantee. The plan comparison shows what the free plan limits: up to 60 shapes in a general diagram (120 in specific diagram types), 2 pages, 3 colour themes, 500 AI tokens and only the first 2 built-in templates. Paid plans list these as unlimited. We did not read the free plan’s export terms. See the current price on EdrawMax’s pricing page. Visit Edraw (affiliate link).
EdrawMind
EdrawMind is the same vendor’s mind-mapping tool. Its page lists desktop downloads for Windows, Mac and Linux, plus web and mobile editions, and describes an AI Mind Map Agent, AI outlines and summaries, and conversion of maps to PowerPoint slides. It cites 10k+ map templates. The pricing page shows the free plan’s limits: 100 topics, 2 sheets per file, 3 notes and 7 preset themes; exports to graphics and PDF carry a watermark on the free plan. Like EdrawMax it offers subscriptions and a perpetual plan, and the FAQ says perpetual means the right to use a specific version indefinitely. See the current price on EdrawMind’s pricing page. Visit Edraw (affiliate link).
Lucidchart
Lucid describes Lucidchart as a diagramming product with AI, data and automation, with templates for flowcharts, org charts, BPMN, UML, ERDs, AWS diagrams and Gantt charts. It says you can collaborate in real time and lists more than 100 integrations, including Jira, Confluence, Slack and Microsoft Teams. Lucid AI creates content from text prompts. The product page does not mention mind maps and does not describe the free plan’s limits, and the pricing page returned no plan details when we read it, so plan names and the pricing model are not stated here. Wikipedia describes Lucidchart as web-based, with free and paid subscriptions. See the current price on Lucid’s pricing page.
draw.io
The draw.io site says it is free with no paywalls, that its source code is under the Apache 2.0 licence, and that no sign-up or credit card is needed. You can bring your own storage to the online editor or save files locally with the desktop app, and the vendor says it cannot access your data. Exports to SVG, PNG and PDF are listed. The page does not mention mind maps, AI features or offline use. Open draw.io.
Miro
Miro lists Free, Starter, Business and Enterprise plans. The free plan allows unlimited team members and access to 7000+ templates, but only the three most recent boards stay editable. Paid plans are priced per member, with a discount for yearly billing. AI credits are limited on the free plan (the FAQ states 10 credits a month) and larger on paid plans; AI workflows and agents are listed for Business and Enterprise. Diagramming is on all plans, with more shapes on Business. The pricing page does not describe mind-map features. See the current price on Miro’s pricing page.
Which one fits you?
Tick what matters to you
Tools that meet every ticked need are highlighted.
Tick a need to see which tools match.
| Tool | Free plan | One-time payment | Mind maps | AI features | Match |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EdrawMax | Yes, with limits | Yes (perpetual) | Mind-map maker listed | Yes | |
| EdrawMind | Yes, with limits | Yes (perpetual) | Yes | Yes | |
| Lucidchart | Not stated | Not stated | Not mentioned | Yes | |
| draw.io | Yes, free and open source | No payment needed | Not mentioned | Not stated | |
| Miro | Yes, 3 editable boards | No (per member) | Not described | Yes |
Ticks come from the vendor pages listed below. “Not stated” counts as no match because the vendor does not say it.
If you also work with documents, see our office suite comparison.
Disclosure
Some outbound links on this page may be affiliate links. If you buy through them, UtilRank may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Commissions do not influence which tools are included or how they are described. Read our affiliate disclosure and editorial policy.
Sources and verification
Read on 19 October 2026. All sources are the vendors’ own pages or Wikipedia. Plans and prices change and differ by region, so confirm on the vendor’s page for your country.
- EdrawMax: Home page, Pricing
- EdrawMind: Product page, Pricing
- Lucidchart: Product page, Pricing (loaded without plan details), Wikipedia
- draw.io: Home page
- Miro: Pricing
Looking for in-depth evaluations of the tools mentioned in this guide? Check out our hands-on reviews: