PDF Editor Comparison 2026: PDFelement, WPS Office, DocHub and Adobe Acrobat
A research-based comparison of four PDF editors in 2026 built from each vendor's own pages: free options and their limits, pricing model, platforms, AI features and what the vendors do and do not state. Not lab-tested.
Most people only need a PDF editor a few times a year: fix a typo, merge two files, sign a form. That makes the pricing model matter more than the feature list. Do you want something you buy once, a subscription you can stop, a free plan with a usage cap, or an office suite that happens to include PDF tools?
The four products below answer that differently: a desktop editor sold with perpetual plans, an office suite with a PDF module, an online editor with a capped free plan, and a PDF specialist with Standard, Pro and Studio tiers.
This page compares them using what each vendor states on its own pages. We did not edit, convert or sign test files ourselves.
How this comparison was made
- This is a research-based comparison, not a lab test. We did not run speed, accuracy or OCR tests, so there are no benchmark numbers here.
- Every claim comes from the vendor's own pages, listed at the bottom, as read on 19 October 2026. Where a vendor does not state something, we say so instead of filling the gap.
- Source gaps: the PDFelement pricing page and WPS's dedicated PDF page returned errors, so PDFelement's trial limits and WPS's free-tier limits are listed as not stated. WPS's home page is very long and we read only the first part of it.
- We do not publish prices. They change and differ by country. Each section links to the vendor's page so you can see the current price for your region.
Quick answers
Which one fits which need
- Buy once, no subscription: PDFelement lists perpetual plans for personal, team and cross-platform use.
- An office suite that includes PDF tools: WPS Office describes itself as a free office suite with PDF viewing, editing, conversion and signing.
- Edit and sign in the browser: DocHub is a browser-based editor with a free plan.
- Clearly tiered plans: Adobe Acrobat lists Standard, Pro and Studio, with AI only in Studio.
Things to check before paying
- DocHub's free plan shares three uses a month across its core features.
- Adobe's free Acrobat Reader is for viewing PDFs. Editing is on the paid plans.
- Adobe's annual plans billed monthly can charge a fee if cancelled after 14 days.
- PDFelement's page does not state the trial length, watermark rules or page limits.
Side-by-side overview
| PDFelement | WPS Office | DocHub | Adobe Acrobat | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| What it is (vendor pages) | PDF editor and manager | Office suite with PDF tools | Online PDF editor and signing | PDF software with Standard, Pro and Studio tiers |
| Platforms | Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, web | Windows, Mac, Linux, Android, iOS, iPad, online | Browser-based | Desktop, browser and mobile apps |
| Free option | Free download; trial terms not stated | Free download advertised; limits not stated | Free plan: 3 uses a month, shared | Acrobat Reader (viewing); trials for Pro and Studio |
| Pricing model | Perpetual plans; yearly plan for education | Pricing page linked; model not stated on the page we read | Free, Basic, Pro and Site License; per member | Standard, Pro and Studio; monthly or annual |
| One-time payment? | Yes (perpetual) | Not stated | No | No |
| AI features | Yes (version 13) | Yes (summaries, chat with PDFs) | Yes, on Pro | Yes, in Studio |
| Editing, merging, signing | Yes | Edit, merge, split, compress, sign | Edit, merge, sign, forms | Yes |
“Not stated” means the vendor pages we read do not say it. It does not mean the feature is absent.
What each vendor says
PDFelement
Wondershare describes PDFelement as software for creating, editing, converting, annotating, signing and organizing PDFs, with AI tools added in version 13. It lists Windows, Mac, iOS and iPad, Android and online tools. Features named include text and image editing, batch conversion to Word, Excel and images, OCR in 26 languages, form creation, redaction, password protection, certificate-based signatures, and AI document Q&A, summaries, translation and contract review. It offers a free download but does not state trial length, watermark rules or page limits. The plans are perpetual (one-time purchase) for personal, team and cross-platform use, plus a yearly plan for education. See the current price on PDFelement’s page (affiliate link).
WPS Office
WPS says its suite is free to download and combines word processing, spreadsheets, presentations, PDF tools and photo editing. It lists Windows, Mac, Linux, Android, iOS, iPad and an online version. For PDFs it says you can view, edit, convert and sign, and names merge, split, compress and an AI form filler. The AI features include summarizing documents and chatting with PDFs. The page does not say what the free tier restricts and does not mention OCR. See the current price on WPS’s site. For a wider look at office suites, read our office suite comparison.
DocHub
DocHub is a browser-based editor for editing, sending and signing PDFs, with a stated upload limit of 31 MB per file. Its pricing page lists Free, Basic, Pro and Site License (enterprise) plans. The free plan has core features limited to three uses a month, shared across the listed features, plus three folders and collaboration for two users. Basic adds unlimited PDF downloads, self-signing and templates. Pro adds unlimited PDF editing, sign requests, bulk send and AI features under the name DocHub Intelligence, and the page mentions a 30-day free trial. Paid features are licensed per member, with monthly or yearly billing. See the current price on DocHub’s pricing page.
Adobe Acrobat
Adobe’s individual plans are Acrobat Standard, Pro and Studio. Standard covers creating, editing, converting and organizing PDFs and collecting e-signatures. Pro adds more than 70 advanced tools such as comparison, redaction and web forms. Studio adds the AI Assistant, PDF Spaces and Adobe Express tools. Acrobat Reader is free for viewing PDFs, and free trials are listed for Pro and Studio. Plans are billed monthly, annual billed monthly or annual prepaid, and cancellation terms differ: annual billed monthly plans charge a fee if cancelled after 14 days, and annual prepaid plans are not refundable after 14 days. See the current price on Adobe’s pricing page.
Which one fits you?
Tick what matters to you
Editors that meet every ticked need are highlighted.
Tick a need to see which editors match.
| Editor | Free plan or download | One-time payment | Desktop app | AI features | Match |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PDFelement | Free download (terms not stated) | Yes (perpetual) | Windows, Mac | Yes | |
| WPS Office | Free download (limits not stated) | Not stated | Windows, Mac, Linux | Yes | |
| DocHub | Free plan, 3 uses a month | No | Not stated | Yes (Pro) | |
| Adobe Acrobat | Reader views only; trials | No | Yes | Yes (Studio) |
Ticks come from the vendor pages listed below. “Not stated” counts as no match because the vendor does not say it. Acrobat Reader is a viewer, so it does not count as a free editing option.
Disclosure
Some outbound links on this page may be affiliate links. If you buy through them, UtilRank may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Commissions do not influence which tools are included or how they are described. Read our affiliate disclosure and editorial policy.
Sources and verification
Read on 19 October 2026. All sources are the vendors’ own pages. Plans and prices change and differ by region, so confirm on the vendor’s page for your country.
- PDFelement: Product page
- WPS Office: Home page (first part only)
- DocHub: Home page, Pricing
- Adobe Acrobat: Pricing
Looking for in-depth evaluations of the tools mentioned in this guide? Check out our hands-on reviews: