Video Editor Comparison 2026: CapCut, Filmora, Movavi, InVideo and DaVinci Resolve
A research-based comparison of five video editors in 2026 built from each vendor's own pages: free plans, watermarks, pricing model and what the vendors do and do not state. Not lab-tested.
The first question with any video editor is not “which has the most effects” but “what can I actually export for free, and how do I pay to remove the limits”. The five editors below take very different approaches: a template-driven editor with AI credits, two traditional desktop editors, an AI video platform and a professional suite with a free edition.
This page compares them using what each vendor states on its own pages. We did not edit or render test projects ourselves.
How this comparison was made
- This is a research-based comparison, not a lab test. We did not run export, speed or quality tests, so there are no benchmark numbers here.
- Every claim comes from the vendor's own pages, listed at the bottom, as read on 18 October 2026. Where a vendor does not state something, we say so instead of filling the gap.
- We do not publish prices. They change and differ by country. Each section links to the vendor's pricing page so you can see the current price for your region.
Quick answers
Which one fits which need
- A free edition with no time limit: DaVinci Resolve, or CapCut's free plan (free templates and basic editing tools).
- A traditional desktop editor you can pay for once: Filmora offers a one-time payment and Movavi offers a lifetime licence.
- AI-generated video: the paid plans of both CapCut and InVideo include AI credits.
Things to check before paying
- The free editions of Filmora and Movavi add a watermark to exports, and Movavi's also limits export length.
- Filmora's one-time licence is tied to one device, and Windows and Mac licences are separate.
- Check the licence type and what is included on the vendor's page for your country.
Side-by-side overview
| CapCut | Filmora | Movavi | InVideo | DaVinci Resolve | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free option (vendor page) | Free plan: free templates and basic editing tools | Free edition; exports get a watermark | Free version with limits that include a watermark and a 60-second video or half-length audio cap | The pricing page lists no free plan | Free version, up to Ultra HD at 60 fps |
| Pricing model | Free, plus Pro and Ultra subscriptions (and Teams) | Yearly plans, or a one-time payment | Annual subscription or lifetime licence | Subscription per seat, with monthly credits | Free version, plus a paid Studio version |
| One-time payment? | Not stated | Yes (per device) | Yes (lifetime licence) | Not stated | Not stated on the pages we read |
| AI video generation? | Yes, on paid plans (AI credits) | Not stated | Not stated | Yes, on paid plans (AI credits) | Studio adds an AI Neural Engine for editing tools, not text-to-video |
“Not stated” means the vendor pages we read do not say it. It does not mean the feature is absent.
What each vendor says
CapCut
The pricing page lists Free, Pro, Ultra and Teams plans. The free plan is described as the basics you need to create, with free templates and basic editing tools. Pro and Ultra include monthly AI credits and premium templates. The page does not say whether the free plan adds a watermark or limits export resolution. A help article explains that watermarks on template exports can come from a default ending clip or a built-in template element. See the current price on CapCut’s pricing page.
Filmora
Filmora offers yearly plans and a perpetual option sold as a one-time payment. The licence is device-specific, so Windows and Mac are separate. The vendor states that the free edition adds watermarks to exported files and that exporting without a watermark is a feature of the paid plans. See the current price on Filmora’s pricing page.
Movavi
The vendor says the free version can have restrictions depending on the build, including a watermark on exported clips and a 60-second video or half-length audio limit. It offers a lifetime licence or an annual subscription. See the current price on Movavi’s Video Editor Plus page.
InVideo
The pricing page lists Starter, Plus and Max plans per seat, shown with annual billing, each with a monthly credit allowance. Starter is limited to lighter AI video models, while Plus and Max list fuller access. Read our InVideo review for more detail. The pricing page does not mention a free plan, so check the app before assuming one. See the current price on InVideo’s pricing page.
DaVinci Resolve
Blackmagic states that there is a free version that works with 8-bit formats at up to 60 fps and Ultra HD resolutions. Studio is the paid version and adds the DaVinci AI Neural Engine, noise reduction, higher limits (up to 120 fps and 32K), multi-GPU support, Dolby Vision and HDR10+ and more. The pages we read do not state in words whether Studio is a perpetual licence. See the current price on the Studio page.
Which one fits you?
Tick what matters to you
Editors that meet every ticked need are highlighted.
Tick a need to see which editors match.
| Editor | Free edition | One-time payment | AI video | Match |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CapCut | Yes (free plan) | Not stated | Yes (paid, credits) | |
| Filmora | Watermarked exports | Yes | Not stated | |
| Movavi | Watermark and length limit | Yes (lifetime) | Not stated | |
| InVideo | No free plan listed | Not stated | Yes (paid, credits) | |
| DaVinci Resolve | Yes, Ultra HD at 60 fps | Not stated | No text-to-video |
Ticks come from the vendor pages listed below. “Not stated” counts as no match because the vendor does not say it.
If you need to download source footage first, read our video downloader comparison.
Disclosure
Some outbound links on this page may be affiliate links. If you buy through them, UtilRank may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Commissions do not influence which tools are included or how they are described. Read our affiliate disclosure and editorial policy.
Sources and verification
Read on 18 October 2026. All sources are the vendors’ own pages. Plans and prices change and differ by region, so confirm on the vendor’s page for your country.
- CapCut: Pricing, Help center
- Filmora: Pricing
- Movavi: Video Editor, Video Editor Plus
- InVideo: Pricing
- DaVinci Resolve: Product page, Studio
Looking for in-depth evaluations of the tools mentioned in this guide? Check out our hands-on reviews: